The Territories

The Territories Mission is made up of the following: the Yukon, Northwest Territories and Nunavut. These 3 Territories make up the incredible body of land in Northern Canada where nature, wildlife and the people of the north tell a tale to the northern lights that dance above.

The Territories hold many secrets still to be discovered, as they are becoming some of the highest spots for science and research when it comes our ever changing world with global warming.


The smallest of the three territories, Yukon (also known as "the Yukon") is the most westerly territory, bordering Alaska.

People visit the Yukon to see the Northern lights, the historic Klondike Gold Rush locations, Mount Logan (highest mountain in Canada) in Kluane National Park, the midnight sun (when the sun is visible at midnight), and to try dog sledding.

Northwest Territories

Northwest Territories is the most populous of the three and borders the other two territories in—as you would expect—the northwest part of the country.

The capital is Yellowknife, and this territory is best known for the Northern lights, the midnight sun, the Nahanni River, the centrepiece of Nahanni National Park Reserve, and rugged outdoor adventure.

Half the population is indigenous and The Northwest Territories boasts 11 official languages. Visitors can learn about the First Nations cultures.


Nunavut is the largest and most northern territory of Canada. It is the newest territory as well, having been separated from Northwest Territories in 1999.

One of the world's most remote locations, it has the second smallest population in Canada. The capital is Iqaluit and adventurers travel to the area to watch the narwhals, see the polar bears, and explore this remote territory.

The territory is known for its indigenous Inuit people's artwork, carvings, and handmade traditional clothing.

Information shared from Trip Savvy

Written by: Jane Mclean, Facts Checked by: Patrice J. Williams.